Choose your location to get a site experience tailored for you.

Remember my region and language settings
Decommissioning in Oil & Gas

Stilllegungen von Öl- & Gas-Anlagen

Öl- und Gas-Förderanlagen, die in den 1970er-Jahren und danach entwickelt wurden, erreichen jetzt das Ende ihrer Nutzungsdauer, und es beginnt weltweit eine Phase mit immer mehr Offshore-Stilllegungen. Aber dieser Vorgang ist eine kostspielige Angelegenheit. Tatsächlich könnte der Wert, um den es bei der ordnungsgemäßen Abwicklung dieser Projekte geht, für viele Länder mehrere Milliarden US-Dollar betragen. Allein in der Nordsee beginnen die Gesamtschätzungen für die Stilllegungskosten bei knapp 150 Milliarden USD.

Im Golf von Mexiko ist der Stilllegungsprozess bereits weit fortgeschritten, und in der Nordsee nehmen die Aktivitäten zu. Unterdessen entstehen weltweit neue Hotspots, die sich auf eine enorme Aufgabe einstellen müssen.

An vielen neuen Hot Spots stehen die Vorbereitungen noch am Anfang. Die Stilllegung von Offshore-Anlagen erfordert ein hohes Maß an Koordination zwischen staatlichen Stellen, Betreibern und Dienstleistern – Akteure, die alle unterschiedliche Interessen verfolgen. Darüber hinaus bleibt der Löwenanteil der Stilllegungskosten in vielen Ländern an den Steuerzahlern hängen, was dazu führt, dass die Öffentlichkeit die Aktivitäten der beteiligten Unternehmen besonders kritisch beäugt.

Obwohl Betreiber und Dienstleister beim Festlegen und Umsetzen einer wirksamen Stilllegungsagenda eine zentrale Rolle spielen, müssen die nationalen Regierungen die Führung übernehmen und einen umfassenden Governance-Rahmen mit starken Institutionen vorgeben. Dieser Rahmen muss den optimalen Einsatz öffentlicher Mittel gewährleisten, zu erstklassiger Projektgestaltung und -durchführung anregen und eine wertschöpfende Zusammenarbeit in der gesamten Lieferkette fördern.

Ausgehend von unserer Erfahrung mit Stilllegungsprojekten in aller Welt haben wir fünf vorbereitende Maßnahmen ermittelt, die Regierungen ergreifen müssen:

  • Ziele, Strategie und Masterplan definieren.
  • Bei Governance, Steuern, Risikomanagement und Regulierung geeignete Rahmenbedingungen vorgeben.
  • Gemeinsame Kooperationsplattform vorgeben, auf der die Betreiber Erkenntnisse veröffentlichen, Probleme lösen und gemeinsame Kampagnen ausloten können.
  • Die Stilllegungsverpflichtungen nennen.
  • Konsequente Ergebnisziele vorgeben und verfolgen.

Stilllegungskosten senken

Öl- und Gas-Unternehmen weltweit müssen die Kosten für die Stilllegung von Bohrlöchern und Anlagen drastisch senken. Aber Kostensenkungen sind nicht nur für die Akteure der Öl- und Gas-Industrie ein Thema. Auch Regierungen haben ein berechtigtes Interesse daran: Die Steuerzahler können bei der Stilllegung von Offshore-Anlagen am Ende für bis zu 50% bis 80% der Kosten aufkommen müssen. Einige Regierungen haben die Dringlichkeit erkannt und das Ziel vorgegeben, die Stilllegungskosten um mindestens 30% zu senken. Wie sich eine Reduzierung dieser Größenordnung erzielen lässt, ist allerdings nach wie vor unklar.

Das Ziel, die Stilllegungskosten um 30% zu senken, ist ehrgeizig, unserer Erfahrung aus der Arbeit mit Regierungen und Betreibern nach aber machbar BCG hat mit ​Akteuren der Branche zusammengearbeitet, um die Stilllegungskosten auf nationaler, Unternehmens- und Projektebene deutlich zu senken. Um dies zu erreichen, benötigen Betreiber und Regierungen einen detaillierten Fahrplan, der den Einsatz von zahlreichen Hebeln regelt, die darauf ausgelegt sind, die Stilllegungsressourcen so effizient wie möglich zu nutzen.

Bei der Entwicklung von Kostensenkungsplänen für Stilllegungen haben wir Dutzende Wert- und Risikoquellen ausgemacht. Um das Wertpotenzial zu erschließen und die Risiken zu minimieren, setzen führende Betreiber und Regierungen auf sechs Kostensenkungshebel.

Es gibt keinen Hebel, der für sich allein ausreicht. Um Kosteneinsparungen von bis zu 30 % zu realisieren, müssen alle Stakeholder einen koordinierten Ansatz verfolgen, der jeden Hebel nutzt, der für ein bestimmtes Stilllegungsprojekt oder eine bestimmte Kampagne relevant ist.

Learn More About Decommissioning in Oil & Gas


Stilllegungen in der Öl- und Gas-Industrie

Stilllegungen als Gemeinschaftsprojekte:Decommissioning Collaboration: So ist NexStep angetreten

Stilllegungen als Gemeinschaftsprojekte:Decommissioning Collaboration: So ist NexStep angetreten

Graeme Ferguson von Decom Energy über Lektionen aus Dunlin

Warum Stilllegungen im Öl- und Gas-Sektor weltweit so ein dringliches Thema sind – Eric Oudenot

Lernen Sie BCGs Experten für Stilllegungen kennen

Die globalen Experten von BCG arbeiten mit Regierungen, Betreibern und Auftragnehmern zusammen, um effizientere, effektivere und verantwortungsvollere Konzepte für die Stilllegung und Wiederverwendung zu entwickeln.

  • Oil and gas upstream: strategy, performance, and operating models
  • Oil and gas decommissioning
  • Oilfield services and equipment suppliers
  • Cost reduction programs
  • Post-merger integration
  • Business unit/headquarters transformation
  • Decommissioning
  • Strategy
  • Diagnostics and benchmarks
  • Cost reduction
  • Commercial due diligence
  • Oil and gas decommissioning
  • Large capital project management
  • Operating model design
  • Transformation
Oil & Gas

ANMELDEN

Choose your location to get a site experience tailored for you.

Remember my region and language settings
Decommissioning in Oil & Gas

Decommissioning in Oil & Gas

Oil and gas wells and installations—developed in the 1970s and later—are reaching the end of their useful lives, and an intense period of offshore decommissioning is ramping up worldwide. But the process is a costly challenge. In fact, the value at stake in handling these projects properly could be worth several billion dollars for many countries. In the North Sea alone, aggregate estimates for decommissioning costs start at close to $150 billion.

The Gulf of Mexico is well advanced in its decommissioning-process journey, and activity is picking up in the North Sea. Now other hotspots are emerging around the globe. And they must prepare for what is typically a massive task.

In many emerging hot spots, preparation is still at an early stage. Offshore decommissioning requires a high level of coordination among governments, operators, and contractors—players that are all driven by different incentives. Moreover, in many countries, taxpayers are on the hook for the lion’s share of decommissioning costs, heightening public scrutiny of stakeholders’ actions.

Although operators and contractors play essential roles in defining and executing an effective decommissioning agenda, national governments must lead the way by establishing a comprehensive governance framework and supporting it with strong institutions. This framework must ensure the optimal use of public funds, incentivize world-class project design and execution, and promote value-creating cooperation across the supply chain.

On the basis of our experience supporting decommissioning projects globally, we have identified five steps that governments must take to prepare:

  • Define the ambition, strategy, and master plan.
  • Establish and enforce the right governance, fiscal and risk management, and technical regulatory frameworks.
  • Set up a single collaboration platform for operators to share lessons, resolve issues, and explore joint campaigns.
  • Identify the decommissioning obligations.
  • Create and drive a rigorous performance agenda.

Reducing the Cost of Decommissioning

Oil and gas operators worldwide need to dramatically slash the costs of decommissioning wells and installations. But cost reduction isn’t a concern solely for oil and gas industry players. Governments also have a vested interest in reducing costs: taxpayers can be on the hook for as much as 50% to 80% of the bill for offshore decommissioning. Recognizing the urgency, some governments have set a goal to reduce decommissioning costs by 30% or more. But the path to achieving reductions of this magnitude remains uncertain.

Although the goal of reducing decommissioning costs by 30% is ambitious, our experience supporting governments and operators suggests that it is achievable. BCG has worked with industry players to significantly cut decommissioning costs at the national, company, and project level. To get there, operators and governments need a detailed roadmap that directs the application of a variety of levers that are designed to make the most efficient use of decommissioning resources.

In developing cost reduction roadmaps for the decommissioning process, we have identified dozens of sources of value and risk. To capture the value and mitigate the risks, leading operators and governments have applied six cost-reduction levers.

No single lever is sufficient by itself. To realize cost reductions of as much as 30%, stakeholders must take an orchestrated approach that applies each of the levers relevant to a specific decommissioning project or campaign.

Learn More About Decommissioning in Oil & Gas

Decommissioning Operations in Oil & Gas

Decommissioning Collaboration: Reflections from NexStep’s First Year

Decommissioning Collaboration: Reflections from NexStep’s First Year

Graeme Ferguson of Decom Energy on Lessons from Dunlin

The Global Urgency of Decommissioning in the Oil & Gas Industry

Meet Some of BCG’s Experts in Decommissioning

BCG’s global experts have partnered with governments, operators, and contractors to deliver more efficient, effective, and responsible decommissioning and reuse approaches.

  • Oil and gas upstream: strategy, performance, and operating models
  • Oil and gas decommissioning
  • Oilfield services and equipment suppliers
  • Cost reduction programs
  • Post-merger integration
  • Business unit/headquarters transformation
  • Decommissioning
  • Strategy
  • Diagnostics and benchmarks
  • Cost reduction
  • Commercial due diligence
  • Oil and gas decommissioning
  • Large capital project management
  • Operating model design
  • Transformation
Oil & Gas

SUBSCRIBE

EN